“THE GNOMES GOT ME”

 

THE KNOMES MAN

THE GNOMES MAN

YESTERDAY EVENING I WENT OUT TO COVER AN ART EXHIBITION IN THE LES FOR THE ART MAG I INTERN FOR MUSEE MAGAZINE. I WAS ON ASSIGNMENT TO THE SASHA WOLF GALLERY ON ORCHARD STREET WHEN I WAS SUDDENLY STOPPED DEAD IN MY TRACKS BY 3 BRIGHTLY COLORED GNOMES DISPLAYED IN A WINDOW I WAS WALKING PAST. I STOPPED TO DO THE TYPICAL THING ANY PHOTOGRAPHER DOES WHEN HE OR SHE SEES SOMETHING WORTH REMEMBERING I TOOK OUT MY CAMERA. BEFORE I DID THAT I KIND OF JUST STOOD THERE AND ADMIRED THE GNOMES IN THE WINDOW BUT THEN WHEN MY VISION BECAME MORE BROAD I NOTICED THE ART PAINTINGS IN THE BACKGROUND, THEY GAVE ME AN IMMEDIATE ROTHKO TYPE FEELING BY LOOKING AT THE FORM IN WHICH THE PAINTINGS WERE IN. I DECIDED TO GO IN AND HAVE A LOOK, I KNEW I HAD AN EVENT TO COVER BUT I FIGURED IT COULDN’T HURT CHECKING OUT SOME EXCITING NEW ART RIGHT DOWN THE BLOCK. AS I WALKED IN THE GALLERY I COULD SEE A GENTLEMAN IN THE BACK WORKING ON THE COMPUTER. I FIGURED HE WORKED AT THE GALLERY IN SOME CAPACITY SO I ASKED WHO THE ARTIST WAS AND IF HE COULD TELL ME A LITTLE ABOUT HIM. THE GENTLEMAN BY THE NAME OF VINCENT SHOWED LOVE IMMEDIATELY AND GAVE ME THE RUN DOWN ON WHO GUY WAS. THE ARTIST GOES BY THE NAME OF GUY STANLEY PHILOCHE AND HE IS A PAINTER WHO WAS BORN IN PORT AU PRINCE HAITI BEFORE MIGRATING TO CONNECTICUT WITH HIS FAMILY. HIS INFLUENCES FOR HIS CURRENT EXHIBITION WERE GETTING IN TOUCH WITH HIS CHILDHOOD IN THAT WARM NOSTALGIC TYPE OF WAY WE ALL KNOW FIRST HAND ABOUT. HE SAYS THAT SOMETHING HIM AND HIS FAMILY USED TO DO AS A SUNDAY TRADITION WAS BREAK OUT THE BOARD GAMES AFTER DINNER AND GET THE PLAYING. MONOPOLY AND SCRABBLE AND CHECKERS WERE SOME OF THE GAMES THAT ENTERTAINED THEM. WHEN YOU TAKE A LOOK AT THE PAINTINGS YOU WILL SEE THE NOSTALGIC INFLUENCE HIS CHILDHOOD HAS ON HIS ART. MANY OF THE PAINTINGS ARE IN THE FORM OF LARGE SCALE BOARD GAMES WITH DISTRESSED CANVAS TO GIVE IT MORE OF A GENUINE WARMING TYPE OF FEELING. ME PERSONALLY I DIGGED THE ART. IT MADE ME THINK OF MY CHILDHOOD AND ALSO NOW BEING AN ADULT PLAYING BORAD GAMES WITH MY FAMILY AND UNDERSTANDING AS AN ADULT HOW THESE LITTLE PIECES OF CARDBOARD AND METAL CAN BRING A FAMILY TOGETHER IN A BEAUTIFUL MEMORABLE TYPE OF WAY. AFTER I SPENT TIME TAKING PICS OF THE ART I GOT A CHANCE TO SPEAK TO VINCENT ABOUT THE GALLERY AND SOME OF HIS EXPERIENCES, WE ALSO TALKED ABOUT HANK ONEALS AWESOME LIMITED EDITION BOOK XCIAs STREET ART PROJECT: THE FIRST FOUR DECADES WHICH CONSISTS OF A CATALOG OF HANKS AWESOME PHOTOGRAPHY AND BOND WITH THE STREETS. BY LOOKING AT THE IMAGES YOU CAN TELL THIS IS A MAN WHO SPENT ALOT OF TIME IN THE STREETS BEING ONE WITH WHATEVER ENVIRONMENT HE WAS OCCUPYING. AS AN ARTIST MYSELF I FIND WORK LIKE THAT INSPIRING AND MOTIVATING FOR ME TO KEEP SHOOTING AND TO SEE WHATS OUT THERE. IF YOU ARE IN THE LES ANYTIME SOON I RECOMMEND YOU CHECK OUT CASTLE FITZJOHNS GALLERY ON ORCHARD ST TO SEE GUY STANLEY PHILOCHE THE ARTISTS WORKS AND TO CHECK OUT HANK ONEALS LIMITED EDITION BOOK.

LIMITED EDITION

LIMITED EDITION

NAMES

NAMES

NEW YORK

NEW YORK

YOU LOSE

YOU LOSE

PIGS

PIGS

HIS HATS GOLD BRUH

HIS HATS GOLD BRUH

GOOD LIVING

GOOD LIVING

DO NOT PASS GO

DO NOT PASS GO

CHECK

CHECK

SCRABBLE

SCRABBLE

PLACE NICE

PLACE NICE

BREAK OUT THE BOAARDS

BREAK OUT THE BOAARDS

EW LA LA

EW LA LA

GUY

GUY

ROTHKONIAN

ROTHKONIAN

VOGUE

VOGUE

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

